Motorhomes For Sale Near Me
Looking to buy a motorhome in your local area? We are the local specialists and offer a wide range of motorhomes across a range of sizes and prices. We have motorhomes for sale in Lynton, Porlock and Minehead. We offer campervans in Wilton and Bridgwater. Check out our range of motorhomes in Taunton, Wellington and Langport.
Taunton (/ˈtɔːntən/) is the county town of Somerset, England, with a 2011 population of 69,570. Its thousand-year history includes a 10th-century monastic foundation. Taunton Castle, from the Anglo-Saxon period, later became a priory. The Normans built a castle owned by the Bishops of Winchester. Parts of the inner ward house were converted for the Museum of Somerset and Somerset Military Museum. For the Second Cornish uprising of 1497, Perkin Warbeck arrived with an army of 6,000; most surrendered to Henry VII on 4 October 1497. On 20 June 1685 the Duke of Monmouth crowned himself King of England here, in a rebellion defeated at the Battle of Sedgemoor. Judge Jeffreys led the Bloody Assizes in the Castle's Great Hall. The Grand Western Canal reached Taunton in 1839 and the Bristol and Exeter Railway in 1842. Today it hosts Musgrove Park Hospital, Somerset County Cricket Club and the base of 40 Commando, Royal Marines. Taunton flower show has been held in Vivary Park since 1866. The United Kingdom Hydrographic Office is in Admiralty Way.
Set amongst the spectacular scenery of an area known as England’s Little Switzerland is Lynton, a small Victorian town with a selection of shops, tea-rooms and cafés. The town boast few buildings of particular note but the Town Hall is worth a second glance, as is the strangely named Valley of Rocks Hotel. The Lyn and Exmoor Museum is housed in St Vincent’s Cottage. It has some interesting exhibitions of Exmoor life, including information about the local lifeboat and the Lynton and Barnstaple Railway. Both Lynton and Lynmouth owe a great deal to Sir George Newnes, a publisher who lived at Hollerday House on Hollerday Hill above Lynton. This mansion unfortunately burned to the ground in 1913 in mysterious circumstances. The house was built. The steep gradient between the two villages had always been a deterrent to visitors and a hard climb for the locals. In 1887 Newnes and Thomas Hewitt began to lay a 900 foot twin track up the steep gradient. The unique water operated cliff railway was opened in 1890 and, apart from needing new track in 1908, operates now as it always has.
In the early days of motoring the railway transported cars up the gradient. A few years later Newnes became involved in a project to build a light railway linking Lynton and Barnstaple. Although the project was plagued with difficulties, they persevered and the first train ran on 11 May 1898. There were initially four locomotives and sixteen coaches and the average speed was about 12 mph. The route crossed Chelfham Viaduct, the largest narrow gauge railway viaduct ever built in Britain. Lynton lies on the northern edge of the West Country peninsula in an area of incomparable beauty. Bracken and heather clad the sweeping hills and valleys nestle between these and spectacular cliffs. Rivers wind their way through deeply wooded valleys to the sea, occasionally interrupted by tumbling waterfalls. This is the Exmoor of Lorna Doone, described in the novel by R.D.Blackmore. The remarkable Valley of the Rocks, after which the hotel was named, is just over a mile from Lynton. This dry valley is unlike any other on the north coast. Created during the Ice Age, it has spectacular weathered rock formations with names such as The Devil’s Cheesering and Ragged Jack. Wild goats populate the valley can be seen scrambling amongst the rocky outcrops.
The Victorian fishing lodge at Watersmeet is now run by the National Trust. The area is worth visiting to see the dramatic waterfalls and spectacular autumn and spring colours of the vegetation. Inland are numerous walks through the rugged scenery of the Exmoor National Park. There are over 600 miles of marked footpaths. Exmoor has abundant wildlife, including ponies, sheep and the lovely red deer that graze the open moorland. Overhead one might see falcons, buzzards and even the rare merlin.
Minehead, on the edge of Exmoor National Park in West Somerset is the area’s largest town. It is also the starting point of the South West Coast Path, England's longest waymarked footpath and a National Trail - it stretches for 630 miles.
Nestling between Exmoor National Park on one side and the Quantock Hills on the other and with Somerset’s County Town of Taunton just a 45 Minute scenic drive away, it is perfectly located for a superb holiday or short break. From that first distant glimpse of the sea and the iconic North Hill as you approach Minehead, you’ll begin to fall in love with our town.
Minehead offers the perfect destination for a family seaside holiday. It boasts a wonderful long flat sandy beach, a charming harbour, a bustling town with Independent shops and cafes and heritage attractions.
Just a short stroll from the seafront you’ll find Blenheim Gardens, Minehead’s largest park. These beautiful gardens, which first opened in 1925, are open all year, with a bandstand and wide variety of free entertainment during the summer months. The historic 14th Century St Michaels Church and charming cottages on North Hill give an olde world charm to the town. Together with a busy West Somerset events calendar, there is always something to see and do in Minehead!
Across from the promenade and the gardens is West Somerset Railway’s western terminus — originally opened in 1874 as The Minehead Railway. A short walk leads you to The Avenue - Minehead’s main shopping street which is just off the seafront and offers a variety of shops, bars and restaurants.
Nearby villages include Dunster with its majestic Castle and Yarn Market, Watchet, Blue Anchor, Porlock and Porlock Weir- a very popular spot for crab fishing and water sports.
Historic market town Bridgwater is home to the most illustrious of Somerset’s famous street carnivals.
A rich legacy as a port and commercial centre is joined by Europe’s largest illuminated carnival, which lights up the streets every November. A lively town with a rich history, Bridgwater Carnival best symbolises the town’s festive spirit. Residents near and far come together each November to witness the largest illuminated procession in Europe. To get in on the action, check the official Bridgwater Carnival Website for this year’s date, travel advice and accommodation information.
Learn about the history of Bridgwater at the Blake Museum, where you’ll discover its past as a port and centre of commerce. The centre of Bridgwater is small enough to explore on foot, so head out to find examples of the fine architecture built during its commercial heydey - check out Cornhill, Castle Street and King Square for some key construction landmarks.
Absorb some local culture at the Bridgewater Arts Centre - one of the first in the country - as well as Somerset Brick and Tile Museum, and the Bridgewater and Taunton Canal and Docks. Head to the town centre to find a combination of well-known and independent shops, plus lots of options for dining.
Its central location makes Langport both a thriving hub for the neighbouring villages, and an ideal base to explore, by car, on foot or by bike, the surrounding nearby towns such as Yeovil, Taunton, Bridgwater, Street and Glastonbury, and the flora and fauna of the Somerset Levels, one of England's most unchanged landscapes.
Langport boasts a fine range of modern facilities, including a post office, library, pharmacy and medical centre; retail outlets ranging from supermarkets to a wide variety of independent shops and craft workshops, and many good places to eat and drink. There are pleasant walks around the town, with attractive picnic areas beside the river and in the Walter Bagehot Town Garden, overlooking the moors. The Hill, the oldest part of town, provides unrivalled views of the surrounding countryside, as well as an eclectic mix of fine old buildings. A network of mainly level footpaths can take you along beside the River Parrett (part of the River Parrett Trail), through Northmoor or around the town. Most paths are suitable for disabled access, though in severe wet weather some may become unusable. There are seats and picnic tables on Cocklemoor and in the Walter Bagehot Town Garden for you to rest and enjoy the beautiful tranquil views. A footpath map is available in the Langport Information Centre. Langport and its neighbouring parish of Huish Episcopi boast many fine historic buildings. Especially notable are the distinctive Hanging Chapel in the old town wall on The Hill; the two parish churches of All Saints’, Langport, and St Mary’s, Huish Episcopi; and the houses on Bow Street which lean gently backwards, possibly because their fronts had the benefit of the foundation of the Roman causeway.